2013 New Zealand Wave Sailing Championships

A press release sent our way from the organisers of the New Zealand Wave Championships where Chris La Franchie was crowned as the new champion.

The wave windsurfing event attracted sailors from France, Belgium, New Zealand, UK, New Caledonia, Auckland, Germany and Spain.

The first competitive day saw light offshore winds and head-high waves. Ferran Crespo, Alexander Strehz and James Dinnis were delivering good wave sailing performances.

Strong winds, tricky waves and rain welcomed all windsurfers on the second day of competition. Tough times, with two waves and two jumps being counted.

Occasionally, a rare moment of planing combined with a ramp of some sort enabled a forward loop to increase chances of making it through to the final rounds.

In the last day, Chris La Franchie, James Dinnis, Ferran Crespo and Craig Williams had to decide the title in low wind conditions. La Franchie got some nicely picked waves high up in the break, closely followed by Ferran Crespo, in second, and James Dinnis taking out third.

1st: Chris La Franchie
2nd: Ferran Crespo
3rd: James Dinnis
4th: Craig Williams
5th = Olivier Perkins, Julien Le Feuvre, Paul Barron, Alexander Strehz

1st: Hamish Dunning-Beck
2nd: Luke Holliday


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.