The Forces Open Championships

The annual Forces Championships were held at Hayling Island during the week of the 12th May. Despite the 5 days set aside for competition the wind only blew for 1 day, but it was enough to get 4 races under the belt and give everyone the all important discard.

There was a really close battle at the front of the fleet, with all of the final top 3 winning at least 1 race. However it was Allan Cross (Army) that took the victory with a slightly more consistent performance. Simon Kent (RAF) finished 2nd and Simon White (Army) was third.

In the intermediate fleet it was encouraging to see some up and coming sailors completing four races also on the same course, with Capt John Markendale (Army) taking overall line honours and Capt Toby Moore (Army) second overall.

Lt Col Neil Curry was presented with a life time in windsurfing award for all his efforts as ASA Rear Commodore Windsurfing over the last two decades which was very fitting as Neil has now handed over ASA Rear Commodore Windsurfing duties to Lt Col David Hinsley.

The Forces would like to thank all their sponsors. Tushingham / Starboard, Seasprite Sports,, Williams Windsurfing and The Glass Lady.

Photo Credit:


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.