PWA Gran Canaria – Last Day

By the 10.30 start it was 37 knots.. Competitors were maxed the pressure seemed to be on Dunkerbeck and Albeau, those between them – namely the Pritchards cruised the last two races (cruised is used in the very loosest sense of the word, to be more accurate think fought, battled, hung on, grimaced – they were maxed). During the first final Dunkerbeck fell at the start, but then Albeau lost it at the gybe mark, Dunkerbeck who was having a bad day failed to make the ground on the French Man. Ben Van der Steen added his name as only the 6th race winner of the 14 race series as he secured a first place.

Kevin Pritchard pushed home in 1st place at the end of the last race of the event, this was enough to squeeze just ahead of his brother Matt Pritchard to take 2nd overall. Matt Pritchard had comfortably sat in second position for the whole event – must be a love hate relationship (Matt P just eclipsed Kevin P in the waves)! Dunkerbeck\’s comparitively lowly 8th place meant he had to settle for 4th place after discards. What was Dunkerbecks greatest strength (consistency,) is now proving against him, however the Spaniard (or is that Swiss)  has just celebrated his 38th birthday making him one of the veterens of the tour!

In all what a mental event. 3 seperate sides of windsurfing all celebrated to their maximum effect in one small arena. Oh, and as a bonus and all in expression session, won by? You guessed it, Victor Fernandez Lopez and Daida Rueno Moreno.

Congratulations to all winners.. and especially to Pete Volwater, (7th in the waves, 7th in the slalom he must be knackered! Someone by him a beer..)

Slalom                                             Wave Women     
1. Antoine Albeau                          1. Daida Rueno Moreno    
2. Kevin Pritchard                          2. Iballa Rueno Moreno
3. Matt Prtichard                             3. Karin Jaggi
4. Bjorn Dunkerbeck                     4. Junko Nagoshi
5. Micah Buzianis                           5. Nayra Alonso
6. Ross Williams                           6. Anne Marie Reichman
7. Peter Volwater                            7. Ulrike Holzl
8. Finian Maynard                           7. Slivia Alba Orozco
9. Taty Frans
10. Patrick Diethelm

Wave Men                                      Freestyle Women
1. Victor Fernandez Lopez           1. Daida Rueno Moreno
2. Kauli Seadi                                2. Sarah Quita Offringa
3. Julien Taboulet                         3. Laure Treboux
4. Vidar Jensen                             4. Iballa Rueno Moreno
5. Dario Ojeda                               5. Nayra Alonso
6. Marcos Perez                             6. Junko Nagoshi
7. Peter Volwater                           6. Silvia Alba Orozco
7. Nik Baker                                    8. Evi Tsape
9. Matt Pritchard                             8. Yolanda Frietes de Brendt
9. Kevin Pritchard
9. Orjan Jensen
9. Jonas Cebellos

(5 GC locals getting a top 10 ranking!)

more on

Photo Credit: PWA/Carter


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.